The International Flow Battery Forum
IFBF 2017 27-29 June Manchester, England





Rongke Power.jpg


Potential Reactions

redT master logo screen.jpg

General Information

IFBF 2018 Website Banner.jpg

The ninth International Flow Battery Forum will take place  in Lausanne, Switzerland from 10th - 12th July 2018.   


Monday 9th July 2018

Introductory Seminar: Separate registration required 

Tuesday 10th July 2018 Conference Day 1 followed by the IFBF dinner

Wednesday 11th June 2018 - Conference Day 2  followed by a networking reception  

Thursday 12th July 2018 - Conference Day 3 

Friday 13th July 2018 - Visit to EPFL's educational flow battery in Martigny


The purpose of the IFBF is to raise the profile of flow batteries as a crucial technology within the electrical energy storage sector.  We believe this is timely and relevant as the need to educate and inform a wide audience of the benefits, features and attributes of flow batteries.

Electricity storage technologies are attracting increasing levels of interest, both from those who manage the world's power systems and from those who invest in plant and equipment manufacturing, project development and asset operation as well as those who are end consumers of electrical power.  There has been a notable growth in electrical energy storage, especially for battery-based systems.  However, with a variety of battery technology types on offer to the market, it is  vital to ensure that the benefits of flow battery systems are recognised and understood; and that purchasers and users of battery-based electrical energy storage technologies make wise choices in the market place.

Our agenda is guided by the proposals from delegates for presentations and posters, and we are pleased to offer a mix of topics ranging from the latest commercial developments in flow battery projects, supply of raw materials and components as well as the latest research from laboratories, universities and public and private companies from around the world for discussion in the conference.  We will have presentations on a range of chemistries and configurations, discuss current and future applications as well as holding discussions on commercialisation and research and development priorities.  The general call for papers is closed.  For those who have been accepted for oral or poster presentation please submit your final two-page mini paper or poster paper using this link: Call for Papers and follow the instructions.

If you would like to join our mailing list please email us at: 

2018 Organising committee:

Honorary Chairman:  Professor Maria Skyllas-Kazacos AM

Members:                  Bret Adams

                                  Veronique Amstutz

                                  Thomas Beyer

                                  Peter Fischer

                                  Robert Lynch

                                  Jens Noack

                                  Christina Roth      

                                  Christian Ruediger                                   

                                  Frieda Schieber

                                  Ian Whyte

                                  Huamin Zhang     

                                  Susanne Zils                                                                                                                                              

Industry Advisory Group:

                                 Adam Whitehead

                                 Scott McGregor

                                 Rick Winter

                                 Gary Yang   


Secretary:                 Anthony Price 


Please complete the IFBF 2018 delegate feedback form here



2018 Conference
General Information
Conference Programme
Introductory Seminar
Call for Papers
Mini Papers
Conference Proceedings
Flow Battery Info
Standards for Flow Batteries
IFBF Archive
IFBF 2017
IFBF 2016
IFBF 2015
IFBF 2014
IFBF 2013
IFBF 2012
IFBF 2011
IFBF 2010
Join the IFBF
Mailing List
Privacy Notice
Contact Us
Flow Battery Info Join The IFBF Mailing List Contact Us